Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

ps46-10-transliteration be still

I will be the first to admit. I have always had a time of sitting still. Not moving around. What I mean is my mind is constantly going. I am forever trying to solve a problem, find an answer or just thinking about stuff. I say stuff because most of it don’t amount too much otherwise if I didn’t think about it would not make any difference.  Now when folks look at me they see a quite look on my face but inside my mind and heart it is racing. Never shuts off until I go to sleep as far as I know or want to know. Maybe that is why I always say thank you Lord before I go to sleep at night. Rest sweet rest.

Have you ever had problems that you just wanted to get away from. They were overwhelming and caused you great concern and fear maybe. I know I have told Carolyn I just want to runaway sometimes. Can you imagine a sixty-one year old man running away from home. Well believe me I do get that way sometimes. I think that is a healthy emotional response to life and the struggles all of us have.  I never do though. For some reason I have always stayed and endured or so I use to think I did.

It does not matter what is going on in your life or mind right now. I know I do not know what you are experiencing. That is true I don’t. But God does. I challenge you if you are struggling with something or feel like running away in fear from something, stand instead take a deep breath, be still and take your concerns to God. No I do not have it all figured out. I am still a work in progress just like you are. God has the answer though trust him for that answer and comfort you seek. It is said that God’s power is not diminished by any turn of events. Nothing happens without his knowledge and permission. When you feel like running away run to God. He will restore justice and goodness on the earth in his good time.

God does not shield us from difficult circumstances but he will examine or test both the righteous and the wicked. For some of us  God’s test become a refining fire that changes us drastically moving us closer to God. While for others the test become an incinerator of destruction. Do not try to ignore or defy the test and challenges that come your way. Use them as opportunities for you to grow. Don’t let your heart be fearful. Don’t be at war with yourself constantly worrying and fretting about things that are out of your control. Psalm 11:4 But the LORD is in his holy Temple; the LORD still rules from heaven. He watches everyone closely, examining every person on earth. 

Spend sometime on your knees before God and in the Holy bible. Be still these are the best words of advice I can give you and “know”; own and acknowledge that he is God, a sovereign Being that does whatsoever he pleases; that he is unchangeable in his nature, purposes, promises, and covenant; that he is omnipotent, able to help them and deliver you from all things; that he is knows all your cases, and troubles, and how and where to hide them till the storm is over; that he is the all-wise God, and does all things  of his own will, and makes all things work together for good to us; and that he is faithful to his word and promise, and will not let us be over-pressed and weighted down with troubles.

There is something else on my mind tonight to share with you. I have to daily remind myself not to be prideful. How does that look. I got this Jesus. What am I going to do now? I cannot believe I let that happen. I can fix it. I deserve better than that. How come they didn’t pick me. I don’t need anyone I will do it on my own. I am smarter than they think I am. She thinks she is so pretty. I will be the best dress person at this party.  Well those should fit all of us.

You see Jesus want’s to handle all those issues. Really try it. Yep he cares about all the small things that are constantly bouncing around in your head. You know all the things that take up all your energy and time ,that set your emotions on edge. He also cares about all the big stuff to. Remember God see’s it all, knows it all and is more than willing and able to act, nothing will or can stop him from doing so. Except us. Try to be still and know that he is God and really is working on all those issues on your behalf. When you pray to Jesus he hears you right then,there is no list. In fact he answered right then.

God does not have to think about your prayers. We have to trust him for the right answers.We acknowledge there is a problem and he answers in his time and way. Prideful folks are always busy in their hearts and minds. Godly folks are at rest in their hearts and minds.“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid. Jesus said this to his disciples before he left to go to heaven. It applies to each of us today that obeys and lives their life for Jesus.

Be still, be quite, slow down, quit being in such a hurry. Have you ever once stopped and thought about all that God wants to show us while we are so busy running past everything. Have you ever once wondered what we are missing. Here is a wonderful savior that has each individual person on the planet earth in his constant thoughts and had plans for them before they were even born. Do we not think he has something to show us each day. I love my brother Paul’s strolls through the park with God and his dog or Paula’s walks in the cold for exercise and drawing close to God. Taking time to slow down and see God and what he wants us to see.

Seriously I have to laugh at the wasted energy I spend on the small stuff and even the big stuff, including the life changing stuff, death,addictions,gossiping,lying did you know God looks at gossiping and lying like murder because it ruins someones character that’s an attribute God is trying to change, our character. That is why he takes our character so seriously.

All this stuff big and little is a scheme concocted by the old devil and our sinful desires to separate us from God and cause us to live an extremely dysfunctional life.  You see he will take legitimate  issues that God wants and put them on you knowing you can’t fix them (pride) then he puts all the insignificant stuff that you don’t need on your mind and heart . There is an old saying  amongst the brethren “if the old devil can he will work your mind and heart to death literally”. Be still and know that I am God Psalm 46>10

Below are some scriptures for learning to be still and the benefits thereof.

Be still and see the salvation of the Lord.

Exodus 14:13-14  

Be still by the side of the Lord.

Exodus 33:21

Be still so you won’t miss the great things God is doing.

1 Samuel 12:16, Job 37:14  

Stand still and see the deliverance of the Lord.

2 Chronicles 20:17  

Be still. It’s the antidote to fretting.

Psalm 37:7

Be still and know He is God.

Psalm 46:10  

Be still before the Lord.

Zechariah 2:13a

Let Jesus rebuke your storms, “Peace, be still.”

Mark 4:39

If you don’t know the Lord contact me if you would like. I would be glad to visit with you. If you want to know him now then repeat the prayer below and God will do the rest. Follow up with me or anyone of the kind folks that I follow on my blog any would be willing to visit with you. We would love to celebrate and personally welcome you into the kingdom of God.

Father forgive me of my sins, Lord I belief in you and want to live my life for you amen. Now its important you know my prayer is what I do anything along these lines will work fine. The most significant thing is you acknowledge that you need Jesus in your life. God will lead you from there. Seek other believers out and they will help you along. May God richly bless your life.

Much love to all of you

             Tom

